Anybus AB7308 - power loss triggers unwanted action

Hi :slight_smile:
New here, I’m a field service technician (Refrigeration), and not an expert on automation or programming.

I have a question about the anybus AB7308.

We have a Saia PLC as the master/operator, the plc communicates Modbus tcp to the anybus AB7308 and the anybus AB7308 translates that to CANopen on a loop consisting of 24 eltorque valve actuators.

We are having some issues with setting this up properly, it’s on a ship, so we need this to operate safely and predictably.

What is happening is that we have 10 of the actuators in full open, if we loose power on the anybus AB7308 the actuators will close, then when the gateway powers back up the actuators go back to their previous position.
The same happens if we loose communication between the Saia PLC and anybus AB7308

For the safety of the ship and crew, what we need to happen is that if there is a loss of communication of loss of power is that the actuators stay in the position they were in.

I’m used to modbus directly from the Saia PLC, where nothing happens unless there is a user input. the PLC sends out a “goto_pos” signal to an actuator, the actuator goes to that position, after that the Saia PLC is just scanning the bus asking “are you there?” and “what is your position?”

The anybus AB7308 seems to first send out a “goto_pos” and then it either has to keep saying “stay… stay… stay…” to keep it there, or it detects that it is loosing power and sends out an “everyone back to zero” signal before it powers down.

What we need is for the anybus AB7308 to not do anything other than translate.

I’m on site, the client is not happy with the delay and our PLC guru has been trying to reach someone from HMS for two weeks that has in depth knowledge of the product who can help him set it up, or tell him if it’s possible at all with the anybus AB7308.

Looking forward to hearing from any of you :slight_smile:

Best Regards

Kim