How many individual Modbus TCP devices and my A-B PLC talk to?

Hi,

I’m new to these devices, but it looks like your HMS-EN2MB-R product will do exactly what I need it to do… namely, to acquire data from a Gas Chromatograph that speaks Modbus TCP and import that data into my Allen-Bradley 5069-L320ER PLC. The problem is that I have three (3) gas chromatographs that I need to talk to and they are all on the same LAN.

How many different devices can be set up in a single HMS-EN2MB-R to talk to my master PLC?
I don’t think there will be too much data (probably around several hundred bytes from each device).

Can I use a single linking device to talk to all three chromatographs?

Thanks!

Hi Mitchell,

You can connect up to 64 Modbus TCP servers (slaves) to the HMS-EN2MB-R.

Keep in mind that this device needs to be configured using the Add-On Profile in Studio 5000.

We also have a “generic” Ethernet/IP version of this device which is configured using an internal web interface. (See AB9006).

Thanks for the quick answer!

To take this a step further, imagine I have 8 different systems that all talk Modbus TCP and I want to acquire data from each of them with my Allen-Bradley EtherNet/IP PLC. To make matters worse, they are all being supplied by different vendors and each are forced to use their own subnets.

Example: One system has been set up as 192.168.10.xxx, one is on 10.100.45.xxx, one is on 10.10.1.xxx, one is on 169.254.1.xxx, and so on. Now, apparently, I could set up those 8 systems in the Linking Device but how would you connect to eight different subnets with the two ports on the Linking Device?

Can a single external switch handle multiple subnets? In other words, could I just plug the Modbus TCP port of the Linking Device into a 16 port switch and all these different systems/devices will talk to the linking device without a problem?