NP40 anybus porting to MSP432

Hello,
I’m trying to use a profibus HMS NP40 module with a TI MSP432 Arm CPU.

I’ve managed to compile and run a simple port of the Starter Kit example SPEED_EXAMPLE

I use spi communication with the module and that seems to work, but unfortunately I have the anbstatus stuck to 0x02 (WAIT_PROCESS) and never goest to 0x04 (PROCESS_ACTIVE)

At the moment I have a profibus master running but I cannot connect to the slave because I don’t know what is its station number.

Anyone is able to help me to test that example and let the master communicate with the slave?

Hello @Merlin,

Do you know if you are able to find the device on the bus once it make it to WAIT_PROCESS? It sounds like the device is initialized but waiting for communication from the master. You would need to assign a station number from the master and/or master configuration software.

Regards,
Deryck

Hello, thanks,
I’m using a custom profibus master so I don’t know if I’m able to assign it a station number from there.

Anyway I was able to assign an address and baudrate to the slave by using
APPL_SetAddress(3);
APPL_SetBaudrate(500000);
within the code.

At this point I’m able to find the slave but the master sees an error and says to me that slave is not correctly parametrized…
I’m trying to use speed example which should work… is it probably a wrong configuration in the master or do I have to check something in the slave example?

What is the exact error on the plc? Perhaps you are using the wrong GSD file or not using the correct parameters from the GSD for the example you are using?

Hi,
I’m porting an Anybus NP40 module on a MSP432.

I’m using the project from the starter kit, the one that is already done for some targets.
I successfully ported the HMS driver on my CPU, I use SPI to communicate to the module.

I compiled the first example, the one defined with APPL_ADI_SETUP_SPEED_EXAMPLE