USB-to-CAN compact v2 and OBD2 port in car

Hi,

I am quite new to this. I have a USB-to-CAN compact V2 with a DB9 port which should be in accordance with CiA® 303-1.
I have a cable of Peak systems, which convertes the DB9 port (CiA® 303-1) to OBD2.

Using the Mini can analyzer in Windows, the device is present and properly installed. But the CAN port does not come up.
Supposedly the car (Mercedes Sprinter W906) is using a CAN bus speed of 83.3kbit/s. But I am only able to configure 83kbit/s.
And I don’t know the other fields.

How should I go from here?

Do you have a terminating resistor?

You can create a custom bitrate:

See ‘Setting a bitrate’ in the Help Section:

Ok thank you, I thought the Peak OBD2 cable had a resistor in it, but that is not the case.
I bought the resistor now, and will try that with Windows later.
Great that I can set a custom bitrate. I can find bitrates for the cars, but I don’t know about the other fields TSEG1/2, SJW, REG0/1

For now I am wondering, is there somewhere I can read about how to configure it in Linux?
With the SocketCAN driver the device is recognized and a “can0” is created, visible through “ip link show” and in Wireshark.
It doesn’t come up though, also not with the extra terminating resistor. I am guessing I should configure bitrate through command line? And manually set the port to up? but it doesn’t let me do that.
CAN led stays off, USB led is green.

Hi Roland,

For Linux, you can use either the SocketCAN driver or the ECI driver. I have previously discussed the differences between them here:

If you are using Linux kernel 5.10 or newer, please use the following SocketCAN driver:

SocketCAN_2_0_378_Modified_PeWu_2022-07-12.tar (3.6 MB)

Here is the getting started document:
first_steps.md (5.1 KB)

There is also demo C code in the ‘IX_SocketCAN-example_1.0.366-REL’ directory as well. Please let me know if you have any other questions.

Best Regards,

Kyle Reynolds