USB to CAN V2 on Raspberry Pi4

Hi to everyone,
I would to connect the device in the title on the raspberry pi 4 for reading CAN message from a receiver. Is it possible to configure the device on PI4? In this case what driver should I use? thank you

Yes, it is possible. You want to use the ECI drivers for Linux:

You will find instructions inside the zip file. Are you using a Debian-based distribution like Raspbian?

Hi,
yes, I am using Raspbian. I installed the zip files but now I don’t know how to read the can messages. Sorry but I am not an expert of using Raspberry.

Folling the instructions,
I got an error when I compile the ECI Demo with the command make.

What error? You do not need to be a pro with Raspbian, but will need general Linux experience to be successful.

Keep in mind the system requirements:

• IXXAT ECI Linux Driver
  • Gcc 4.2 and a working kernel build environment (for PCI(e) interfaces)
  • USB interfaces require the latest version (V2.X) of the bootmanager
  • libusb-0.1 0.1.12 or newer (for USB interfaces)
  • libusb-1.0 1.0.12-2 or newer (for USB-to-CAN V2)
  • libc6 2.3.4 or newer
  • libstdc++6 3.4 or newer
  • libgcc1 3.0 or newer
  • Code::Blocks IDE 8.02 or newer (optional)

Note:
The driver should work with most Linux distributions running a Kernel from 2.6.x up to 4.4.0,
but was only tested using Debian/Ubuntu and openSUSE Linux.

Hi, thanks for the help,
my problem, for now, us the kernel version of Linux and the linux -headers. I am not able to downgrade the kernel version to a release from 2.6 to 4.4 and find the linux - headers of the same version. How could I do this? thank you

I doubt that is the problem. I think it just lists 4.4 as the last version tested, but should work with newer kernels. However, I need to verify this.

Is it possible for you to try building on Ubuntu 16.04 LTS to see if it makes a difference?

I have confirmed that the latest ECI driver supports up to kernel v5.8.