Using Labview to control a servo drive with CAN

I am using a USB-CAN V2 (compact) and Labview 2019 to communicate with a servo drive that uses CANopen. I am struggling mightily to get anything useful to happen. The sample programs provided by IXXAT are not especially useful. They do not generate any errors, but neither do they do anything practical. I am unable to find any labview VIs that get past the recognition of the USB/CAN interface and the mere fact that there is a CAN bus there. The assorted user manuals and guides I can find all seem to use different terms to describe the same thing, making it so far impossible for me to get anywhere. I would really appreciate a simple, sample, of a functioning, transactional VI - i.e. one that asks for data and receives it back; that may help me translate the information in the hardware’s CAN manual into the right settings needed for the IXXAT VIs.

FYI, I have roughly 15 years experience with Labview and exactly 0 successful instances of anything related to CAN communications.

Thanks,

Hello Charles,

I have opened you a case for this on Mysupport.hms.se You should be able to use your email to recover a password to login and access you support account. Here

I am using this case to reach out to the ixxat support team who should be able to help us with the labview example.

Deryck

1. Please install the VCI V4.0.939.0 and
    the LabView API-Addon V4.0.33 Installation.exe
    from the Add-ons directory of the ZIP file:
    https://www.ixxat.com/technical-support/resources/downloads-and-documentation?ordercode=1.01.0281.12001

2. The examples are in the following directories:
    C:\Program Files\National Instruments\LabVIEW 2017\examples\IXXAT\VCI.V30\VCI3_Demo.vi
    C:\Program Files\National Instruments\LabVIEW 2017\examples\IXXAT\VCI.V40\VCI4_CANDemo.vi

3. The HMS IXXAT VCI VIs are in the following directories:
    C:\Program Files\National Instruments\LabVIEW 2017\vi.lib\IXXAT