B40-EDS File Generation to include $Help string

Hello,

I have a question about how where in the Compact B40 Embedded code I have to add my string parameters in order to get the listed string for each parameter to show on EDS file: “$Help String”. The EDS file is currently being generated by the HMS EDS tool for an Ethernet/IP Implementation based on the HMS B40 module ( AB6674) .

Background: I am using the CompactCom B40 Ethernet/IP module in a product that has successfully passed ODVA conformance testing. I have been added into the project by manager to complete this task but have no solid knowledge when it comes to Ethernet/IP or the uses of B40 module and its interference. I currently have a fair standing of Embedded firmware/hardware as I have been working at this company for 1-2 years as an intern.

Currently the EDS Parameters look something like this:
[Device Classification]
Class1 = EtherNetIP;

[Params]
Param1 =
0, $ Reserved (always 0)
0, $ Link path size
“”, $ Link path
0x0010, $ Descriptor
0xC7, $ Data type (Unsigned 16–bit integer value)
2, $ Data size
" Version", $ Parameter name
“”, $ Units string
“”, $ Help string
0, $ Minimum value
65535, $ Maximum value
0, $ default value
, $ Scaling multiplier (not used)
, $ Scaling divider (not used)
, $ Scaling base (not used)
, $ Scaling offset (not used)
, $ Multiplier link (not used)
, $ Divisor link (not used)
, $ Base link (not used)
, $ Offset link (not used)
; $ Decimal precision (not used)

My goal is two include a value for the $ Help String inside my firmware so that when regenerate the EDS file using the generation tool it can show up in my parameter struct.

Thank you for your time.

Hello @WillyGoodman,

The EDS Generator is reading the CIP objects from the CompactCom and Generating an EDS. From what I can tell the help looks to be part of the parameter object. This would need to be enabled and configured in your host application.

Deryck