MNS EN2MB-R is stuck in "Program Mode"?

I have used the EN2MB-R before, but I’m not an expert.

I am trying to read values from a Rosemount 370XA Gas Chromatograph (Modbus) into an Allen-Bradley PLC (Studio5000-EIP). I am getting a timeout (flashing red LED on MTCP) even though it looks like everything is set up properly.

The only thing I notice that is different than my last time is that when I view the properties of the EN2MB in my Studio5000 program, it tells me that the EN2MB is in “Program Mode”, where the system that runs is in “Run Mode”. I am wondering if that is a symptom or a cause. I can’t find a way to tell the EN2MB to go into “Run Mode”

Thoughts?

Hi Mitchell,

Have you downloaded to both the Anybus and the PLC?

Are you using the Control/Status word?

See page 14 in the User Manual for details on it.

That’s a curiosity. I don’t seem to have any output registers or control registers in my PLC program. The EN2MB-R didn’t create those. As you can see below, the HMS was used to create the software declarations in my Logix 5000 code, but it did not create a control word (EN2MB:C) or an output word (EN2MB:O). It only created the two structures for the two different chromatographs I hope to talk to.

GC_002 is an ABB NGC8203, which is the exact same unit as I talked to in a previous job (and which works fine). GC_003 is the Rosemount which I have not talked to yet. GC_002 is without power at this time and the Transaction Monitor says that there is no connection. However, the Transaction Monitor for GC_003 reports a Timeout.

You have to enable the Control/Status words if you want to use them.

I guess I don’t understand the previous question that well. The Anybus doesn’t really have a “program mode” but the PLC does.

If the transaction monitor is reporting a timeout, it means it’s not getting a response from the server. Can you use a Modbus simulator to poll it?